My first time deploying to production πŸ˜…

My first time deploying to production πŸ˜…

I honestly forgot the backend was still on Heroku free tier, ahhhh......

Β·

2 min read

On returning to Nigeria after my internship at Goldman Sachs over the summer, my friend, Ifihan, introduced me to the tech hub at my university, NitHub. At NitHub, we bridge the gap between academia and the industry.

I signed up to volunteer as a DevOps engineer at the hub; one thing led to another, and I volunteered to be the Project Manager on a project. After getting the project's requirements, I chatted with my team, and we devised a product plan.

Given my DevOps knowledge, I had to set up Continuous Integration (CI) pipelines for the projects - this was the easy part because while I had not done it in production, it was something I had done before. The tricky part was setting up the Continuous Deployment (CD) pipeline to the hub's server.

I did a lot of research and asked around - my friend made this tweet some days back πŸ˜…. After a lot of back and forth, the project was live, but at 8 pm, I received a call saying the site was not working as it should.

I rushed back to the hub to discover I hosted only the frontend on Nginx πŸ™‚; how I forgot the backend was running on Heroku's free tier remains a mystery. After a lot of back and forth, I could host both the frontend and backend on Nginx - this was my first actual deployment to production, and I learned a couple of stuff:

  • Communication is vital - include everyone and over-communicate.

  • Document everything.

  • Be transparent and honest about your deliverables.

Stop by the hub if you need a co-working space or a meeting venue 😁.

You can reach out to me via LinkedIn or Twitter.

yoi otoshi wo omukaekudasai (have a good year), and cheers to 2023!